Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo is the capital and largest city in the Dominican Republic, and the second largest in the Caribbean.
The city is located in the Caribbean Sea at the mouth of the Ozama River. It is the oldest continuously inhabited
European settlement in the Americas, and was the first seat of Spanish colonial rule in the New World.
Famous landmarks in Santo Domingo include the Calle El Conde, the Puerta
de la Misericordia, the Catedral Santa María La Menor (Catedral Primada de
América), and the Alcázar de Colón, all of which are located within the Zona
Colonial district of the city. This part was declared a UNESCO World Heritage
Site in 1990.
Outside of the colonial quarters, the area surrounding the Malecón (seawall)
is a vibrant commercial and tourist center, having as a centerpiece the large
obelisk located at the eastern end of the George Washington avenue.

Other places of interest are Plaza de la Cultura, which houses the city's most
important cultural venues such as the Teatro Nacional and the Museo de
Arte Moderno; the Palacio de Bellas Artes , a neoclassical theatre that is the
permanent home of the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional (National Symphony
Orchestra); the Parque Mirador Sur, a six square kilometers park in the
southwestern part of the city; the Faro a Colón, a cross-shaped lighthouse
built in honor of Christopher Columbus; and the Boulevard 27 de Febrero, a
pedestrian promenade located on the busy Avenida 27 de Febrero which
displays many works of art from prominent Dominican artists and sculptors.

Another attraction is the Centro Olímpico Juan Pablo Duarte a sports
complex in the center of Santo Domingo. This complex was used during the
2003 Pan-American Games, but has been severely abandoned since.
Sindicato de Transporte Turistico Hoteles y AeropuertoSosua y Cabarete.  
Puerto Plata, Republica Dominicana       E-mail:
Phone: (809) 571-3097 / 571-2797     |      Fax: (809) 571-3097      |      Cabarete: (809) 571-0767 / 571-0824